Birmingham, AL wedding & portrait photographer Kelly Cummings

Leigh and Taylor :: Downtown Birmingham :: Engaged

The day before Leigh and Taylor’s engagement session I had a bridal session at Alabama Theater (which of course I can’t share until the bride, Stephanie, gets married in January but oh how I want to!), and it just so happened I left my amazing sale price nine west boots that make me feel like horseback riding betty draper there by mistake. I was a little worried they wouldn’t be there the next day, but I also very much wanted to figure out a way to get Leigh and Taylor in for a few minutes for a quick photo since one of their favorite activities to do together is watch movies and the Alabama Theater is perfect vintage charm when it comes to old red movie seats. I called in the morning and the man in the office said I could come look for my boots and take a few quick photos, adding in that they closed at 4. When we got there at 2:30 the door was locked but I called and there was one person still there, they’d closed early since it was the day before Thanksgiving, and even though I’m pretty sure the man hated me I was so grateful he let us in. The theater was pitch black, however, so I had Leigh hold a little flashlight to help me focus in the dark. We got about 2 minutes total inside and the rest of the day was spent roaming the less traveled parking lots and rooftops of downtown Birmingham, and I’m in love with the results. I am also pretty crazy about how much in love with the session Leigh was, she had so much fun which makes my job so much easier! And I love Taylor’s willingness to do whatever we asked. They are such a warm, loving couple. Here’s to a decade of dating!

2 responses

  1. I LOOOOVE this session Kelly!!! Such amazing pictures! What an adorable couple – congratulations to them!!

    December 9, 2011 at 12:32 pm

  2. Lovely session! The rooftop series is my favorite, I think, but they’re all gorgeous!

    December 10, 2011 at 9:12 am

Leave a Reply

