Birmingham, AL wedding & portrait photographer Kelly Cummings

Rob & Jean:: Married!

Rob and Jean’s wedding was one I had been looking forward to all year, and the reasons to look forward to it just kept adding. First of all, Rob and Jean are awesome and we really clicked right away, from the far-from-serious photo they sent so that I could recognize them at O’Henry’s when we met, to the extra hour at O’Henry’s after their engagement session just to talk. Then, when I toyed with the idea of getting an intern for the busy wedding season this year, right away Jean responded to my twitter request with the contact information for Nancy, Rob’s sister. Nancy probably had no idea what she was getting into, but a few months later I felt like Rob and Jean’s wedding was the marriage of two of my close family members. Jean has very much become a part of the McColl family over the years since they started dating in high school, and you could tell how happy their friends and families were to watch them wed.

The wedding took place at Historic Rucker Place, a southern historic home in downtown Birmingham overflowing with Southern charm, and red and traditional Chinese details were added to incorporate Jean’s heritage to the event. Jean’s bridesmaids wore red dresses, the guests were given wooden fans with red ribbons printed with the date, and the food at the reception featured a mix of Southern and Chinese food (read: delicious).
The photo above might just be my favorite photo ever.





This (above) is Nancy. My intern/assistant extraordinaire, who is leaving me to go to London next semester, after which she is to promptly quit school and join me full time.


























After this mini session with the getaway car I seriously want to steal all of my couples on the wedding day to get shots like these. It doesn’t always work out with the schedule but I so wish it would. Take note brides-to-be. After you get married you will be so happy and it will show on your lovely face. So, let me take you away from the reception and photography you. Thanks!











I am so grateful to Rob and Jean and their families for making sure that Morgan and I were fed, comfortable, welcome, and happy at the rehearsal dinner and the wedding. Rob and Jean are such a fun couple and for the first time ever (so far at least), I took up the begging request of some of the groomsmen and guests to go out after the wedding. This group was seriously that fun.

I know that Rob and Jean have a lifetime of happiness ahead of them and I’m so privileged to be their photographer and to now call them my friends! Congratulations Rob and Jean!

Vendors:
Dress: Marisa from Bella Couture
Shoes: Christian Louboutin
Location: Rucker Place
Flowers: Lillie’s
Cake: Edgar’s Bakery
Hair: Lindsie Mosley of DL Salon
Bridesmaids: Dessy Group
Band: Drivetrain
Groom and Groomsmen attire: JoS. A. Bank
Catering: Savoie

2 responses

  1. Hillary

    Kelly wow. This looks like it was a gorgeous wedding. Certainly gorgeous and creative pictures!

    August 22, 2011 at 10:50 am

  2. Pingback: After Parties and Ceremony Send-offs « bhambride

Leave a Reply

