Birmingham, AL wedding & portrait photographer Kelly Cummings

Jean and Rob :: Engaged

Rob and Jean have been friends since 6th grade Math Olympiad. It’s funny to think that there was a time when they were just friends, because seeing them now it’s obvious how much they just get each other. When we were corresponding via email about the possibility of me shooting their wedding Jean sent me a photo of the two of them so that I could recognize them when we met up. Neither of them are smiling, Rob is making an awkward deer-in-the-headlights face and Jean has an unsure side pucker toward the camera. I knew then that I wanted to shoot their wedding.

The actual engagement session ended in a trip to O’Henry’s (where we had our first meet-up) to grab a cup of coffee and an extended hangout where we just talked about life. I love their love, it’s so fun and real and tangible. They laughed non-stop, both of them, they had a secret handshake (unbelievably cute to see in action), they humored me when I told them I wanted to lay down on the ground and shoot them from above even though I never had and it might turn out terribly. Gotta love dream clients. 2011 is pretty amazing so far.

One response

  1. Rebecca C.

    YAY for another half white, half Asian couple! šŸ™‚

    June 3, 2011 at 12:45 pm

Leave a Reply

