Birmingham, AL wedding & portrait photographer Kelly Cummings

Meagan and Andrew :: Engagement

Last summer I took my first trip to Selma, Alabama, my husband in tow, to shoot the wedding of the lovely Grace Kelly look-a-like Ann and her beau Whit. I was instantly in love with the town. The county roads leading there, the old homes and small town charm, the southern hospitality. Having come from a small southern town myself (for those of you willing to call North Carolina the south), I could definitely see some of my hometown of Princeton in Selma (also the name of a North Carolina town about 10 minutes from mine, making the connection seem even stronger).

Just a few weeks ago I returned to Selma for a most amazing wedding (much more on that happy occasion once I’m all caught up blogging). The following day I met up with Meagan and Andrew, bright and early (though not as early as we’d previously discussed since Meagan and Andrew accepted my cry of defeat/plea to change the time by an hour to add a bit more sleep to all of our days), to photograph their engagement session where Meagan grew up. Meagan was also Ann’s maid of honor, a fact I was alerted to upon receiving the inquiry about her wedding from her fabulous planner, Kerrie Kelley, who I am beyond excited to work with!

Meagan had warned me a few times about Andrew’s sarcastic wit, and given my husband’s nature as well as my own I was sure I’d have no trouble discerning fact from fiction. Andrew certainly put me to the test. Throughout the hours we spent together I had a chance to see just how smitten Andrew is with Meagan, even through the joking, and it makes me happy to see such a good match in the two of them. I’m so looking forward to my next trip to Selma for their wedding!




The photo above makes me think of Alice going down the rabbit hole, and thus I had to include it.

2 responses

  1. Gorgeous photos. Also gorgeous heels on the bride-to-be.

    May 23, 2011 at 7:10 pm

  2. Hillary

    Love the wildflower one! Great job.

    May 23, 2011 at 9:39 pm

Leave a Reply

