Birmingham, AL wedding & portrait photographer Kelly Cummings

Molly and Jonathan :: Engagement

Sometimes really happy accidents happen and you pinch yourself a few times so that you remember that you have the rest of the engagement session to finish so you need to snap out of it.

I was so tickled pink when Molly and Jonathan showed up for their engagement session, Molly in a seersucker dress and Jonathan with A BOWTIE and tomato red slacks… and much moreso when we happened upon stables with horses in them, and then when one of the horse owners came over to say hello and bring his horse out for us. To thank him I will shamelessly now endorse the riding lessons over at Oak Mountain State Park. I was pretty thrilled with the whole unexpected horse deal, it’s only too bad that I didn’t play it off like I planned it all along.

But, this post is for Molly and Jonathan, an absolutely wonderful couple who are getting married this October in SAVANNAH, Georgia. Yes, capitals equal shouting. I AM SHOUTING ON THE INSIDE.

Before the shoot I was a bit frantic, I’d had something resembling food poisoning the night before but was determined to go on with the shoot, and my usual prowess in photo planning and scouting felt a bit inhibited until we arrived. But oh… Molly and Jonathan and their smirks, their sarcasm, their laughing… I told  them that engagement sessions were always fun because it was like going on a date with the couple, to which Molly said something to the effect of “and being the third wheel?” And I laughed, but yes, I like being the third wheel. I go on these dates with these couples in love to fantastic and unexpected places and see them be themselves.

This session left me chasing the light until the bitter end, I could’ve photographed Molly and Jonathan for hours…I love talking with Molly about her plans, about dresses and weddings… I’m so happy to have new friends that I will have the honor of photographing on the biggest day in their lives so far.

Hooray!





3 responses

  1. Eeeek! Love, love, love this. Duh.

    May 18, 2011 at 2:29 pm

  2. LOVE everything about this session. Gorgeous.

    May 18, 2011 at 7:04 pm

  3. Beautiful!!!

    May 18, 2011 at 10:39 pm

Leave a Reply

