Birmingham, AL wedding & portrait photographer Kelly Cummings

Morgan Trinker

Meet Morgan.

In November of last year I got an email from a girl who had recently moved here (to Birmingham, AL) from Salt Lake City, and was restarting her photography business from scratch in a new place, much like I started just a year before. I haven’t always had luck with other photographers I’ve met (which is true of anyone you meet really), and friendships are a huge emotional investment, a time commitment, and a risk. But after a few emails and our first lunch at Cafe de Paris, it was clear that we had a lot of the same goals and interests, and we’ve been lucky enough to find ways to work together since then!

Our biggest adventure began with the Hi-Fi Weddings Fest in Huntsville this January, which is where I took the following photos (you can see the images Morgan took of me here). Afterwards we decided to take on the project of a local wedding resource for Birmingham girls, called Bham Bride (near and dear to my heart as an internet addict who planned a wedding here just after moving from NC and finding that everything was much more offline and word of mouth).

I’m sure there will be much more to say in the future about Morgan, and mostly she’s an amazing friend and the only reason I didn’t kill myself over my open house last week. She’s very DIY crafty, loves the colors aqua and lime green (if you ever come across her or any of her possessions you will be made aware), she loves Kate Spade, and she has a sparkling personality. We live very similar lives but mine is a little less color coordinated. Our husbands have become friends and we’ve replaced our dreams of husband and wife photography teams with a girl friend team aspiration. I hope you enjoy these images, and if you haven’t checked her work out already, please do, she’s awesome, and I’m lucky to know her!




2 responses

  1. Melissa m

    Yay for making friends! Both of you are so sweet, I’m so glad that you found each other!!!

    May 7, 2011 at 9:17 am

  2. Gorgeous light! I love this session.

    May 7, 2011 at 12:28 pm

Leave a Reply

