Birmingham, AL wedding & portrait photographer Kelly Cummings

Allison and Jonathan :: Mobile, Alabama Wedding

I feel like given the chance I would talk about Allison and Jonathan for hours. Even though I had yet to meet either of them until the day of the wedding, I have rarely felt so attached to a couple immediately. It might have something to do with the mass number of phone and email conversations Allison and I shared the months leading up to her wedding day, a joke we shared throughout the day when someone mentioned Allison’s tendency to be completely on top of things. Even so, Allison didn’t have a bridezilla bone in her body, and the whole day she seemed to care the most about making sure everyone else was calm and comfortable. We all joked that this was no different from any other day to ward off any potential criers, and I probably ended up with the least dry eyes of anyone throughout the day.

After spending the morning with Allison at the salon and in the hotel suite the girls stayed in at the Battle House Hotel, I was really excited to meet Jonathan when the time came to follow Claire, Allison’s matron of honor, to deliver his present from Allison. I already knew we had Alabama football in common, Allison and I had swapped California stories about the National Championship in 2009 and our unfortunate mishaps in the great state (my husband’s license was expired when we were attempting to get married in San Francisco and Jonathan’s wallet was stolen at the Championship making travel back home a bit more difficult). It was easy to see how Jonathan ended up with 13 groomsmen (so many that they couldn’t all fit on the altar) once I met him; he is so lovable and kind and I am ecstatic that he and Allison are now husband and wife!

For fear of a never-ending story about their day, I’ll let the photos do the rest. Congratulations, Allison & Jonathan!

 

An enormous thank you goes out to Morgan Trinker, who came along to assist me and rocked every aspect of the wedding day (I might just have to do a separate blogpost showing how many different ways Morgan and I photographed Allison’s shoes). I’d love to thank everyone else involved in the wedding as well, I’ve certainly fallen in love with Mobile and the group of people that made this wedding a reality. The florist added a monogram to Allison’s bouquet as a surprise, the Cathedral allowed me to move around as much as I wanted during the ceremony (I was stunned), the coordinator at the Bragg Mitchell Mansion was unbelievably nice and helpful, the band (Cool Rays) played pretty much non-stop all night and didn’t freak out when two of the guests came up to sing Strokin’. And there were Krispy Kreme donuts at the end of the night. It really couldn’t get any better.

8 responses

  1. Awww… how fun this wedding was! Let’s go back to Mobile. 🙂

    March 29, 2011 at 7:24 am

  2. How beautiful was this event? But I already know the answer because of your talent. I could not love the picture of the toddler in the elevator more than I do. He seems so “Waiting on my floor…”

    March 29, 2011 at 10:27 am

  3. Janna Lyons

    My goodness what a beautiful couple and an absolutely perfect wedding day! My heart is filled with so much joy for our families!

    March 29, 2011 at 10:30 am

  4. Betty Deneke

    The photos are so great! You have captured the happiness of the day. Allison is beautiful and Johathan is so handsome. (I should know since I am his grandmother and Allison now belongs to us too. Thank you for sharing some of the joy with us.

    March 29, 2011 at 5:32 pm

  5. Allison

    You are both amazing photographers and I am so honored to have had you a part of such a special day for Jonathan and me. I never thought I would think of my photographers as new friends… I was wrong. Thank you so much for everything!

    March 29, 2011 at 9:18 pm

  6. Allison was/is one of my sorority sisters and is *literally* one of the sweetest people I have ever met in my life. Her wedding, and these photos, were/are absolutely gorgeous!!

    March 30, 2011 at 7:31 pm

  7. Pingback: Allison and Jonathan Get Married » Morgan Trinker Photography | Birmingham, AL

  8. What lovely photos! Great emotion. The little boy in the elevator is precious.

    April 30, 2011 at 3:21 pm

Leave a Reply

