Birmingham, AL wedding & portrait photographer Kelly Cummings

Chapel Hill Engagement Session

Jiayin and I have been friends since junior year in high school, where we ran cross country together. I actually remember very fondly Jenny trying to throw ice into my mouth and missing when I had heatstroke on some ridiculously hot day. Jiayin and I would go to a local coffee and dessert shop every so often with one of our other friends, Megan, and recreate the same group photos we’d taken last time.

Jiayin and I went to the same college, UNC Chapel Hill, but it wasn’t until after undergrad that she started dating the mysterious Blake. His mystery was mostly because I hadn’t met him, but either way I was excited for her. Especially when I found out she was engaged!

Ever since then we’ve been planning her engagement session. I was so excited to be back in North Carolina for the fall. I love Alabama but I really miss NC! I think it’s one of those grass is greener type things but the light was so lovely during my trip, and I get nostalgic for my favorite restaurants in Chapel Hill (Pepper’s and Fiesta Grill) and the feeling of being home.

There’s no way that the admitted stalkers of this post care so much about the back story, so here are the photos you’ve been waiting for…

This is the Davie Poplar, the legendary spot that William R. Davie supposedly decided to build the university. They know that to be false, but the more important part of the legend is that kissing on the bench beneath it means you’ll get married. It might be self-fulfilling prophesy, but I recommended we get at least one shot at this Chapel Hill engagement landmark.

Before you say anything about how I clearly stage my photos, let me correct you. Jenny stages photos. But I still love them.

This is definitely one of my favorite dogs and favorite photos of all time. And it’s completely unrelated to Jiayin and Blake, but still one of the most fun parts of the day.

Jiayin & Blake met in their dorms’ common kitchen in college a few years before they started dating. Their first date was to the bookstore Borders, so we added a few shots there onto the end of the shoot.

6 responses

  1. Anna Clare Culp

    These are amazing!! I’m jealous!! I love the backdrop of NC for this!! It’s beautiful and I can see why you would miss it!!

    November 4, 2010 at 11:15 am

  2. Emily Hon

    Hi Kelly! I love this!! and I can just hear Jenny laughing and telling you and Blake exactly where she wanted the pictures and how he should be situated. Wonderful wonderful pictures!!!

    November 4, 2010 at 8:07 pm

  3. Jiayin

    haha emily, all I situated was a piece of red leaf, and then a few more yellow and green leaves…hehehehe

    November 4, 2010 at 9:05 pm

  4. beena

    this is beautiful! congrats jenny 🙂

    November 4, 2010 at 9:51 pm

  5. Dan

    So beautiful and sweet. I like your style.

    November 5, 2010 at 1:28 pm

  6. Blake

    Emily, you have no idea 🙂

    November 5, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Leave a Reply

