Birmingham, AL wedding & portrait photographer Kelly Cummings

Rebecca Mill :: The Indie Image :: Photography Playdate

I met Rebecca during one of my first (possibly my very first?) second shooting gig in North Carolina, in early 2008. We were both second shooting with Amanda from Studio 310 (who graciously let me come second shoot with her those first few months I was getting started, most of the photographers in my home county were completely and explicitly opposed to helping a newcomer out at the time). Rebecca was already a rockstar and fellow Nikon shooter, and I moved to Birmingham later that year so our friendship was extremely limited to the limited closeness that a facebook friendship allows.

As fate would have it, Rebecca has family in Birmingham and comes down to visit at least once a year, so this summer we got together for coffee to dish on all that comes with the glamorous life of photography (and by that I mean all of the drama, stresses, marketing, gear lust, and the good stuff as well). When I came home to do My & Nathan’s Chapel Hill wedding this past November Rebecca came along and killed it!

Rebecca came to visit her grandparents again this past December and we made an adventure out of it. I’ve become good friends with the girls at Molly Green (an eco-conscious boutique) and we stopped by to pick out a wardrobe and then frolicked over at Sloss. I’ve got to make more time for this sort of thing. Photographing friends and being photographed by friends are some of the greatest joys in my life. I don’t belong behind my computer! I should chant this over and over and make a huge mural for my wall.

Anywho, enjoy these photos of Rebecca and try not to get too jealous of her gorgeous smile and ridiculously cute hairstyle. View Rebecca’s work over at The Indie Image!

HUGE thank you to Becca for coming to hang out in Bham and getting me out of the office! I need a Raleigh playdate next time I’m home…

 

2 responses

  1. You amaze me! I wasn’t expecting too much from this shoot (because of the model, not the photographer), but when I saw them I was floored! You did such a great job photographing my curvy self, and I totally love them! Thanks for being a encouragement and friend. We will definitely have to get together in NC next time you are here! Too fun! And thanks too, to Molly Green! What fun to get to play dress up!

    January 18, 2012 at 10:05 pm

  2. Love all the ones in the tree and with the shadows!

    January 19, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.