Birmingham, AL wedding & portrait photographer Kelly Cummings

Southern Weddings Feature :: Ashley and Patrick

I was still in Chapel Hill when Southern Weddings launched a few years ago, and I found out that they were seeking interns just a few months before our planned move to Birmingham, Alabama (which, don’t get me wrong, I was beyond excited about). I’d have to settle for blog following.

I loved that Southern Weddings was an opportunity for the South to shine, and for Southern not to refer to California. The weddings and the people and the hospitality. And for it to spring up in my home state! But, I faithfully followed the blog throughout the planning of my own nuptials and crossed my fingers in hopes of one day submitting to the magazine. I met Lara Casey at A Bryan Photo’s workshop back in April 2009 and was so inspired by her motivational branding talk to us, she’s such a genuinely friendly and joyful person even with her insane schedule that must be even more so now!

When Southern Weddings had their most recent call for Real Wedding Submissions I immediately thought of Ashley and Patrick’s wedding (which you haven’t seen on the blog yet because I couldn’t risk the images leaking, features are serious business!), and was too excited when they wrote back to ask for more images. A full blogpost on their wedding is to come but here’s a link to Southern Weddings!

And, thank you to Andi Rice, my assistant photographer for the wedding, who took the gorgeous ceremony shot from the balcony!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.