Birmingham, AL wedding & portrait photographer Kelly Cummings

Katie and Patrick :: Gulf Shores, Alabama Engagement Session

I met Katie a few months ago to discuss shooting her wedding this summer. Her mom and aunt came along and I ended up spending hours talking with the three of them about weddings, my wedding, flowers, vendors…pretty much every aspect of a wedding. And I couldn’t get enough. Now that I’m married I live vicariously through “my” brides, and I’m lucky I have an outlet for my obsession that counts as business. And I’m lucky to have clients who love to talk about the details, even those that have absolutely nothing to do with photography.

While making plans for a wedding I was shooting in Mobile, I talked with Katie about having her engagement session in Gulf Shores, where she and Patrick currently live, and where Patrick’s family lives as well. I have done very little beach photography in honesty, and I’m a little biased against the standard all white family photos on a sand dune, so I was challenged by this session initially.

Katie sent me a gorgeous sunset silhouette photo from a friend’s engagement that became my obsession for the shoot, everything was all about waiting for the sun to go down. Which is a difficult waiting game right after daylight savings. The sand fleas didn’t make it easier. I was anxious about those last few minutes before the sun vanishes, and it wasn’t until I flipped through my computer later that I breathed a sigh of relief. I loved the 2 and a half hours before the “perfect light” when I was avoiding the hot direct sun, fighting off bugs, nervous about when the sun would finally descend.

I love that Katie looks exactly like a blonde Emily VanCamp to me, and I loved the cozy little beach spot that I’m sure few tourists know about. I am starting to fall in love with the beach and the quiet that comes with it. I am so grateful to Katie and Patrick for inviting me to their beach, ignoring bugs and heat while I sought out the perfect shot. And for doing absolutely anything I asked of them.

Enjoy.

5 responses

  1. Lovey love love! I think the last two are my faves. You nailed the silhouette shot… it was well worth the wait and the bugs! :)

    March 28, 2011 at 8:36 pm

  2. Gorgeous! Dreamy!!

    March 28, 2011 at 9:01 pm

  3. Hillary

    Kelly! These are gorgeous!!

    March 28, 2011 at 9:59 pm

  4. her ring is fab!

    March 31, 2011 at 2:39 pm

  5. Pingback: Katie and Patrick :: Married! « Spindle Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.